//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Is Yahoo Fantasy Sports Down…RMA Player Acquisition Discussion

WTF is up. Maintenance, Malarkey. … BJ, I see your post. I have to agree. I didn’t make a stink because yes, Gomez followed the rules that are posted. I am not trying to get Britton back, however, I think there needs to be a change. Perhaps requiring a response from the owner of an RMA player before he can be acquired by another team. Correct me if I’m wrong please but I believe a player on Adam’s team came up earlier this year and he gave a verbal or some other form of confirmation to another owner that he had no intention of adding said player to the active roster, thus relinquishing ownership of said player. Something along those lines might be a more just method if it can be policed. Shit happens. People go on vacation. People move. People don’t have full access to the Internet for more than three days at a time. I traded for Britton and BJ drafted for Vizcaino (I believe) and neither of us intentionally let them go. Probably just sounds like whinning but an adjustment to the policy could be in order if the league can agree on something…
Discussion

9 thoughts on “Is Yahoo Fantasy Sports Down…RMA Player Acquisition Discussion

  1. So you think that you should be able to hold on to a guy for an indefinite amount of time until you decide to drop him? No way. There has to be a time limit.

    Posted by Dick Pounds | August 16, 2011, 6:57 am
  2. I have to agree with Gomez. You can only have 25 men to a roster. In theory you could mull over a decision on a particular player for as long as you like. But that would still require dropping a player off of your current roster. If you want to do that (which would be retarded) go right ahead. But failing to pay attention to the waiver wire is a monumental failure on the part of the owner. In fact, those of us who are relentless and neurotic about checking the wire should be rewarded for our efforts. In a sense, Derek and Gomez deserve those players more than their previous owners. It's like neglecting a child. Think of Dee and Gomez as fantasy Child Protective Services.

    Posted by Devon Rosene | August 16, 2011, 7:14 am
  3. There was a verbal warning with Tyler Chatwood (drafted), and members in our league asked nathan if he was available. I understand trolling the waiver wire and working hard to find players that slip through the cracks. I understand that that teams should be rewarded for their hard work but they should be rewarded for players not anyones RMA team. I think a team should be notified if their player is up, and if that team does not want the player he has the right to drop him.

    Posted by Emcee2Bee | August 16, 2011, 6:45 pm
  4. I will republish the official RMA rules and we can start from there and rebuild for next season.

    Posted by Dead Rebel | August 16, 2011, 7:57 pm
  5. So Alex now needs to do all the work for owners when it comes to following their RMA team? If he wants to take on that responsibility I have no problem with that but that it a lot of work to do because people haven't done it themselves. Teams are notified when players are called up, it is called ESPN.com, google.com, SBnation.com, cbssports.com yahoo.com and many other sports sites and search engines.

    Posted by Dick Pounds | August 16, 2011, 11:30 pm
  6. There are no vacations in fantasyland! It's nobody else's responsibility to keep track of RMA players than their own Owner. I don't look at baseball news, multiple times a day, to inform other Owners that their players have gotten the call. I have enough on my plate managing a last place team. I have nothing against BJ and the Conscious Daughters. I only saw the player and waited for the deadline. Actually, Arodys pitched on the 10th and was added to the player pool the 11th and cleared waivers the 14th. So, really I picked him up 5 days after the call-up. Sorry BJ, I stayed well with in the rules and the rules haven't changed. And really, the only reason you think the rule is gay is because your player was taken. I'd be pissed too, but knowing the apps that all smart phones are capable of, yourself is the only one to blame. This rule could come back to bit me in the ass, but I have always known it was there.

    Posted by Ninja Dude | August 16, 2011, 11:35 pm
  7. The apps on the smart phone doesn't have the NA players in the player pool if you type in their name. I have admitted that everybody has worked within the rules, but rules can be amended and changed. Yes i got royally fucked over on a player that i was high on and nobody else was. I took the time to think outside the box and draft a player who was on nobody's radar at the beginning of the year and now is a top 3 prospect in an organization that is littered with talent. So yes this pisses me off that I used my app on the phone everyday to put in players but the app does not have NA players show up untill they are in the league officially. If he was a starter i would have easily seen his name in the box score but since he is not i was not able to get his info on my app. Do I expect to get Vizcaino back, no. To be accused of not paying attention is ridiculous, my phone just wouldn't allow me to track NA players until they are in the player pool. I just think that players of an RMA team should have more leeway when it comes to players they have drafted or have acquired. Yes rule changes generally happen when people have grievances. Do you think the Tuck rule wouldn't have happened had that play not occurred. I just think the rule needs to be looked at, so teams don't get their players snaked from them. I guess i just went on vacation at the wrong time and can't do anything about it.PS I also knew that Tyler flowers was in the league but as a back up shitty catcher he was not worth my roster space.PS2: Derek enjoy the best relief pitcher in baseball. He is only behind Lowe, Hudson, Hanson, Beachy, Minor, Teheran, Medlin, and Jurjens. And if he wants to be a closer he will behind Kimbral and venters.

    Posted by Emcee2Bee | August 17, 2011, 4:38 am
  8. Just want to point out that the tuck rule was not created to right the wrong that was done to the Raiders. It was created to back up the call that was made at the time. According to the tuck rule, that was an incomplete pass by Brady.You are wrong that you couldn't have got that info on your phone. Yes, the Yahoo Sports app won't let you search NA players and see who was added but iPhones and other smart phones have internet browsers where you can go to the fantasy sports page. You can search who was added or activated that way. That may not be the way you prefer to do things on your phone but it is indeed possible.

    Posted by Dick Pounds | August 17, 2011, 5:27 am
  9. I am confused, was Vizciano an important pick for you or is he just a glorified reliever that won't sniff the starting rotation or the closers role?

    Posted by Dick Pounds | August 17, 2011, 5:38 am

Leave a Reply

Categories

